Man Linux: Main Page and Category List


       chkconfig - enable or disable system services


       chkconfig -t|--terse [names]
       chkconfig -s|--set [name state]
       chkconfig -e|--edit [names]
       chkconfig -c|--check name [state]
       chkconfig -l|--list [--deps] [names]
       chkconfig -A|--allservices
       chkconfig -a|--add [names]
       chkconfig -d|--del [names]


       chkconfig  is  used  to manipulate the runlevel links at boot time (see
       init.d(7)).  It  can  be  thought  of  as  a  frontend  to  insserv(8).
       Chkconfig  can  run  in six different modes: terse list mode, set mode,
       edit mode, list mode, add mode and delete mode. The  last  three  modes
       were added for compatiblity reasons.


       This  mode  lists  the  state  of  the specified services, or all known
       services if no service name was provided. Every printed  line  consists
       of  the name of the service and the runlevels the service is configured
       for at the moment. If it is configured in  no  runlevel,  off  is  used
       instead,  if  it is configured in the runlevels defined as a default by
       the start script, on is used. If the service is  an  enabled  inetd  or
       xinetd  service,  inetd  and xinetd are used. Inetd/xinetd services are
       configured in /etc/inetd.d and /etc/xinetd.d, respectively. You can use
       the  -A  or  --allservices  parameter  to  get  all  services (even the
       boot.*-services) listed.

       If chkconfig is called without arguments, all services  are  listed  in
       terse mode.


       Set  mode  is  used  to configure at which runlevel a service should be
       started. The arguments must be specified as pairs of service  name  and
       new  state.  You  can  use  on  and off as special states to select the
       default set of runlevels or to disable a service  completely.  You  can
       use  inetd or xinetd to configure a service managed by the inetd/xinetd

       If no services are  specified,  chkconfig  reads  lines  from  standard
       input.  Each  line  must  consist  of  a service/state pair. As this is
       exactly the output of  the  terse  list  mode,  this  can  be  used  to
       reconfigure a service specification saved by a former run.

       If  the  option  -f  or --force is also given, insserv is called with a
       ’-f’ option.


       This mode is a combination of the terse list mode  and  set  mode.   It
       writes  the  state of all specified services (or all known services, if
       no service was provided) into a temporary file, starts  an  editor  and
       re-configures  all  services  to  reflect  the  states  of  the changed
       temporary file.


       This mode can be used to check the state of a service.  chkconfig exits
       with  a  return  code  of  ’0’  if the service is enabled in all of the
       specified runlevels, otherwise the exit status is ’1’. If chkconfig  is
       called  with  only a service name the current runlevel of the system is
       used for checking.


       List mode prints for each specified service a line that consists of the
       service  name  and for runlevels zero to six on or off depending if the
       service will be started or not.  on will be printed in bright green  if
       the output is written to a terminal. If the --deps option is given, the
       names of the services that must  be  started  before  this  service  is
       appended  to  each  line. The inetd/xinetd services are listed in extra

       You can use the -A or --allservices parameter to get all services (even
       the boot.*-services) listed.


       Calls insserv to enable a service and uses list mode to display the new
       setting afterwards.


       Same as add mode, but disable the service.


       When no service names are given on the command line, chkconfig defaults
       to all known services excluding those that are not enabled in runlevels
       1 to 6 and start with ’boot.’.  Use the --allservices or -A  option  if
       you want to see such services as well.



       list the runlevel configuration of all known services

              chkconfig apache

       list the runlevel configuration of the apache web server

              chkconfig -t apache xntpd

       list  the  runlevel  configuration  of  the  apache  web server and the
       network time protocol daemon.

              chkconfig apache on

       configure the apache web server to be started on next boot time.

              chkconfig apache 5

       configure the apache web server  to  be  started  only  if  the  system
       reaches runlevel 5.

              chkconfig apache 35

       configure the apache web server for runlevel 3 and 5.

              chkconfig apache on xntpd off

       configure two services

              chkconfig finger xinetd

       configure a xinetd service

              chkconfig -A >~root/

       backup the current configuration

              chkconfig -s <~root/

       restore the configuration

              chkconfig -e apache xntpd

       change the runlevel configuration interactively

              chkconfig -e

       change the runlevel configuration of all services interactively


              path  to the boot script base directory as required by the Linux
              Standard Base Specification (LSB).

              path to the inetd services. See the inetd manpage  to  find  out
              how to enable this feature.

              path to the xinetd services.


       init.d(7), init(7), inetd(8) xinetd(8) insserv(8)


       2003 SuSE Linux AG, Nuernberg, Germany.


       Michael Schroeder <>

                                   Oct 2006