Man Linux: Main Page and Category List


       ares_save_options - Save configuration values obtained from initialized


       #include <ares.h>

       int ares_save_options(ares_channel channel, struct ares_options *options, int *optmask)


       The ares_save_options(3) function saves the channel data identified  by
       channel,  into  the options struct identified by options, and saves the
       mask of options which  are  set  to  the  integer  pointer  (passed  by
       reference) identified by optmask.

       The  resultant  options and optmask are then able to be passed directly
       to  ares_init_options.   When  the  options  are  no   longer   needed,
       ares_destroy_options should be called to free any associated memory.


       ares_save_options(3) can return any of the following values:

       ARES_SUCCESS   The channel data was successfuly stored

       ARES_ENOMEM    The memory was exhausted

       ARES_ENODATA   The channel data identified by channel were invalid.


       Since  c-ares  1.6.0  the ares_options struct has been "locked" meaning
       that it won’t be extended to cover new functions.  This  function  will
       remain  functioning,  but  it  can  only return config data that can be
       represented in this config struct, which may no longer be the  complete
       set of config options. ares_dup(3) will not have that restriction.

       The  ares_options struct can not handle potential IPv6 name servers the
       ares_channel might  be  configured  to  use.  The  ares_save_options(3)
       function  will  only  return IPv4 servers, if any. In order to retrieve
       all   name   servers   an   ares_channel   might    be    using,    the
       ares_get_servers(3) function must be used instead.


       ares_destroy_options(3),   ares_init_options(3),   ares_get_servers(3),


       ares_save_options(3) was added in c-ares 1.4.0


       Brad House
       Copyright 1998 by the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

                                 5 March 2010